Throwing Centers


Throwing Centers

State Standard: 1, & 2

Equipment: Listed Below.
Grade: K-2
Purpose of Event: Develop Throwing skills, focus on correct hand and opposite foot, great time to monitor progress.
Time: 10-15 minutes
Description:

Put stations around my gym in a large circle. I also have pictures (shoulder folders) on cones with colors. This is how I have students rotate from one center to the next via colors. For example, purple to yellow and so on. I also place plastic arrows on the floor letting students know where they must go (directions). I use just about anything that can be thrown!  Here are some of the things I use (I have centers alternate from underhand to overhand throwing):

Volley Birds into a Deck Ring;
Nerf balls into a basketball hoop;
Koosh balls at a bowling pin;
Koosh balls thrown in the air and catch; bean bags into a box;
Football in to a hoop (hang hoop from basketball hoop);
Bean bags into a hoop;
Speed ball (mesh equipment, with holes that balls can be thrown into);
Bounce and catch ball; Bounce reactions balls and catch;
Indoor Yard darts into hoop;
HiLi scoops (throw and catch);
throw ball through large circle mat. 

I use this as a great chance to check for biomechanics of throwing.  Great time to check perceptual motor skills. 

Concerns: Cooperation and Moving safe in space.
This idea is from: Youtube Channel.

 

About mrkirsch

Greetings from Garfield Elementary School! My name is Dan Kirsch. I teach Physical Education for students in grades K-5! Please read about what students are learning within our Physical Education program at Garfield!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *