My Snake


My  Snake (Reading)

State Standard: 1, 3, 7 5

Equipment: My Snake from the book Something Big Has Been Here by Jack Prelutsky
Grade: K-1
Purpose of Event: Creative Movement Activity, body awareness and letter recognition, personal/general space.
Time: 10-15 minutes
Description:

Have the children find a personal space and sit down. I tell them that I am going to read a story about a smart snake that can make every letter of the alphabet with his body. I ask them if they think they can make every letter with their bodies. The story is called My Snake, each time he makes a letter, first listen as I read. (Read Story, The snake twists and turns into letters.) Next, I want you to try and make the same letter as he does. This time while I read, the students make the letters.

Concerns:
This idea is from: Judy Fowler, at pecentral.com Thank you for a great idea! And Jack Prelutsky for a great book!

 

About mrkirsch

Greetings from Garfield Elementary School! My name is Dan Kirsch. I teach Physical Education for students in grades K-5! Please read about what students are learning within our Physical Education program at Garfield!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *